Why I feel Friendships are overrated.

Aarushi Grover
2 min readJun 23, 2020

--

Friendships are overrated

What is friendship? According to Wikipedia, Friendship is a relationship of mutual affection between two or more people. You are lonely, you find somebody to hold on to, and then two of you hang out together and then you call it a ‘friendship’. A very well known quote we learned in our childhood days –

“A friend in need is a friend indeed.”

What does it mean? It means friendship is a trade. When I’m in need, you help me and when you are in need I’ll help you. If both of our views agree with each other, we are friends. In short, the one who can partner you in anything you call your ‘friend’.

Sometimes I feel friendships are overrated. Maybe we say things overrated or underrated just because of our personal experiences. I have the feeling that life and along, the changes of the different relations manifold after a certain age or time. We love showing off, cherishing, and flaunting our numerous friends. As we grow up, all those friends turn into mere acquaintances. We start running towards our life and career.

There are friends with whom I used to talk daily. Then we rarely talked and then we stopped talking. I don’t even know what they are doing in their life. But the picture on Instagram still has the caption “Best Friends Forever”.

“The truth is, everyone is going to hurt you. You just got to find the ones worth suffering for.” – Bob Marley

You will never make friends with someone who really shows the truth to you. You will make friends with someone who will keep you in illusion. Humans are social animals and if one day they show the truth to you, you’ll leave them or they leave you. So, acquaintances are better.

You need to remember that being alone is better than being lonely in a group of ‘friends’.

Sincerely, I choose me.

Thanks for reading.

--

--